Twitter Wall

Twitter Wall

Close

22/09/18

You've still got time to come and join the fun! We've got lots of stalls, performances, hot food and an inflatable assault course. An event you don't want to miss! https://t.co/qhGakv3Cxx

22/09/18

FIGS Fair starting in 55 minutes, taking place in the school hall and the gym, enter through main reception or side hall doors. Can't wait to see you all... https://t.co/2icUsZOuIb

21/09/18

Don’t miss the annual FIGS Autumn Fair, expected to be an afternoon of fun and fundraising! Looking forward to seeing you all tomorrow. https://t.co/t8RWnnkr9K

21/09/18

Don’t forget school photographs Monday, can’t wait to see everyone’s smiling faces!

21/09/18

Few pictures from yesterday’s Physics trip to Cavendish Laboratory Cambridge with Year 11 https://t.co/UzM9Dwqtxo

19/09/18

Another week, another House Competition: Sixth Form Benchball! https://t.co/8zNIZtdisB

19/09/18

Year 11 have been taste testing their pastries and using the sensory vocabulary to write down their findings. Yummy! https://t.co/quuWRiAN75

18/09/18

Today we are holding our Year 7 Leadership Fair at lunchtime for students to see the Prefect Opportunities available and meet our Senior Prefect Team.

18/09/18

Don't miss out on the 'Catwalk Catastrophe'! All proceeds from the event will go to the Young Chamber and Interact chosen charities. To secure your tickets please contact k.finlay.viat.org.uk. https://t.co/ZnoJ6sRd2Z

17/09/18

On Sunday, 16 September a team of Invicta staff and students headed to Sandgate to take part in the Great British Beach Clean 2018. Well Done Team! https://t.co/U6uNbITXTi

17/09/18

Year 9 getting creative in Georgaphy, learning about tectonic plates. https://t.co/oGcPazjhbB

17/09/18

Year 8 kick-starting their Monday morning with double science, investigating the unusual properties of Transition Metals and the displacement reactions of Halogens. https://t.co/NasOcpbACG

14/09/18

Now, Forest Challenge!! https://t.co/F2vqUYOW27

14/09/18

Next stop Orienteering! https://t.co/ThNsNjnmyH

14/09/18

We've had a great time open canoeing, but definitely ready for some lunch! https://t.co/vUPtSeFnen

14/09/18

First activity of the day, open canoeing! https://t.co/FPRbZl4uwM

14/09/18

We've arrived! Quick welcome then off to the activites. Lets get started! https://t.co/WVJC1lCEA3

14/09/18

Year 7 all ready for their trip to Bewl Water. Smiles all round! https://t.co/xxyfqdkJ0o

13/09/18

What a great end to the day - Year 11 Yoga https://t.co/zFO4zWFVZO

13/09/18

Year 10 Food Tech, cooking sausage rolls and making butter! Very nice! https://t.co/caSEXv3rE0

13/09/18

As part of our Broadening Horizons programme we would like to welcome Vincent Fraser, President of Nottingham University Law Society for our first lecture of the year titled 'Pathways to Law'. Photos to follow tomorrow.

13/09/18

Year 8 creating new Charlie and the Chocolate Factory characters in their English lesson as part of the Roald Dahl Day Celebrations. https://t.co/qjb5vrk4Ni

12/09/18

Tonight we welcome Year 11 for an evening of sharing information to support students and parents in getting ready for GCSE and A Level options.

12/09/18

Another House Competition, Year 7 Benchball. Well Done to the Winners 7C and Runners up 7T, everyone played fantastically https://t.co/YlUbHwYDRV

12/09/18

The Summer Reading and Book Face Challenge Winners are in! Well done to Adena Rowan Year 8 and Claudia Pitcher Year 8. Keep up the great reading. https://t.co/5P9O26XY22

12/09/18

Year 7 displaying their beautiful summer work this morning, in English. https://t.co/IGVk7bSEwf

11/09/18

Students have enjoyed finding out about all the different Clubs and Societies available to them. https://t.co/EMhYa7nZfi

11/09/18

Today we are launching our Clubs & Societies Fair at lunchtime for all students to view and register their interest in over 60 clubs on offer. This is an opportunity for all students to Take on a new challenge.

11/09/18

Our Young Chamber and Interact hope that you can attend the Catwalk Catastrophe Murder Myster Evening on Saturday, 6 October! For more details or to book contact k.finlay.viat.org.uk. https://t.co/8r8vLg8rKw

11/09/18

Congratulations to everyone earning their bronze and silver awards for DofE. https://t.co/vjm1f2ceNt

10/09/18

Tonight we welcome over 250 guests to celebrate the success of our students completing their Bronze and Silver DofE awards. Well done girls!

10/09/18

Year 13 Investigating Capacitors in Series and Parallel - Keep up the great work! https://t.co/Rhrj98WiI7

10/09/18

'I did not think I would be using a sewing machine in my second Textiles lesson!' Year 7's enjoying their first go on the sewing machines today. https://t.co/yJqTfk25uo

06/09/18

On 6 September, Year 11 students were all in school, achieving 100% attendance for their year group. Well done Year 11, keep up the good work!

05/09/18

The House Competitions are underway! Year 8 playing Capture the Flag in Period 5 this afternoon. https://t.co/coHOY8V3v4

05/09/18

We would like to wish all Year 6 students sitting the 11+ test tomorrow the very best of luck. Remember that all you can do is try your very best. https://t.co/aDPGXAYu29

05/09/18

On 5th September, Year 7 students were all in school, achieving 100% attendance for their year group. Well done Year 7, keep up the good work!”

05/09/18

Tonight we welcome our Year 12 students and parents to our Post 18+ Options Information Evening (6-8.30pm). This will include Academic Support and Career Guidance including workshops for UCAS/Oxbridge/Apprenticeships/Student Finance.

04/09/18

For our second workshop of the week we look forward to welcoming another 65 students this afternoon for our 11+ Maths Preparation Workshop.

04/09/18

Exciting News : Invicta Grammar School has been nationally recognised as a Transforming Educational Practice under SSAT's Framework for Exceptional Education. More to follow in this weeks Invicta News.

Invicta Blogs

Posted on: May 16th 2016

I read an article entitled ‘Ice Cream for Breakfast and Coke all Day’ in the Telegraph this week – it reviewed the favourite foods of billionaires.

I read an article entitled ‘Ice Cream for Breakfast and Coke all Day’ in the Telegraph this week – it reviewed the favourite foods of billionaires.  Microsoft founder Bill Gates, whose net worth is said to stand at $87 billion, is rarely seen without a can of Diet Coke, whilst Steve Jobs liked apples a lot.  This made me think about a question that Year 9 asked me this week too. I drop in to tutor groups and give them the opportunity to ask me any questions they like – it literally is everything from what we hope to achieve as a school, to every day issues around the year group, to finding out more about me. In contrast, it gives me the opportunity to find out more about the year group, their interests, views and opinions.  However, this week, I was asked a whole host of questions about my interests and what I like and dislike – one of which, was based around my favourite foods!  This made me think. I had not really thought about it much, but I knew that I could safely say that I loved raspberries!  Not only are they lovely, but they are healthy as well.  To me, there is nothing more important than your health, and looking after your diet is one of the best ways to stay healthy. Coupled with an active lifestyle, I try to look after myself with a healthy, balanced diet and plenty of fresh fruit and vegetables. So, when you read about the eccentric ways that some people eat, it is enlightening.  However, one thing for sure, is that when I spoke to Year 9, they actually take the issue of food and health very seriously, which is good to see.  They were keen to find out about our plans for a new sports hall at school, as well as how we are constantly developing the menus available in the Dining Hall – to include the updated salad bar, fruit pots and vegetarian options.  Not only was I really impressed by this, but I was extremely pleased.  It highlights how our students understand the need to be healthy and sensible in what they eat. But, what really made me happy was that when asked, our girls were genuinely interested in the development of their school.  They, like me, wanted the school to be the best it could be. Co-incidentally, that is the theme of the week, so a great way to end this week’s Blog.  I have no doubt that our girls will relish the opportunity to not only be the ‘best they can be’, but to ensure that Invicta can ‘be the best it can be’!  By continually listening to the suggestions of our students is one way that I will endeavour to do this.