Twitter Wall

Twitter Wall

Close

25/04/18

Have you read our school blogs recently? https://t.co/6T2RIu2gP7 They are written by our Leadership Team and our Student Prefects and are very interesting. https://t.co/Mb1uB4DP3n

25/04/18

There have been a wide range of PHSEE sessions taking place today from diets to The Samaritans to Year 8 visiting local businesses. All of which raises thought-provoking issues for the students.

25/04/18

Invicta Grammar School will be hosting the Kent Schools' Under 14 Debating Competition this afternoon.

25/04/18

Have you made a date in your diary yet? We look forward to seeing you! https://t.co/udpmApza5B

25/04/18

Year 9 wiring plugs in their Physics lesson. https://t.co/23Ac59DZ6K

25/04/18

Year 7 practising their spreadsheet skills on desktops and iPads. https://t.co/ee2KCZg74X

24/04/18

The PE department would like to welcome all students, of every age and ability, to attend the summer sports clubs which are now running during lunchtimes or after school. If you would like to improve your skills; or try out for one of our successful sports teams, give them a try! https://t.co/GGlu2ug7Ig

24/04/18

Congratulations to Jess in 7V who competed at the South East Regional National Grades on Sunday, 8 April in the Women’s Artistic Gymnastics. Jess passed her National Grade 2 with a Commendation. https://t.co/xgo2okTQWj

24/04/18

Congratulations to Megan in 8A who competed at the Hillingdon Duathlon on Sunday, 15 April and finished in 1st place! https://t.co/KgqgukCpUP

24/04/18

A group of Year 7 students visited The Holmsdale School for the visit of poet Neal Zetter. They came back to school very inspired! https://t.co/z3OhHlPFRn

23/04/18

Invicta Grammar School has been recognised for its excellence by becoming a member of the SSAT Leading Edge network, a national group of exclusively high-performing secondary and special schools. https://t.co/F0ziwrr124

23/04/18

Invicta has been successful in achieving the Inclusion Quality Mark for the school. Inclusion promotes equal opportunities for all students, whatever their age, gender, ethnicity, attainment and background. https://t.co/wOyHkOpj1c

23/04/18

Monday to Thursday lunchtimes this week, students will holding their Business and Enterprise Spring Fair raising money for the Teenage Cancer Trust. https://t.co/stQkFn4g7d

23/04/18

Invicta students will be making cakes for the Heart of Kent Bluebell Walk cake table on Sunday 6 May. https://t.co/FTcKouDjae

23/04/18

Congratulations to Amelia in Year 7 who competed at the County Showjumping Championships as one of the youngest competitors. In the warm up event she came 2nd out of 63 riders. On Saturday qualified her for the next round, unfortunately she did not make it to the final round. https://t.co/Kcx8WjzhiM

23/04/18

The Theme of the Week: Be Knowledgeable about Internationalism, Religion and Culture. Assemblies and tutor time will be based on the theme.

20/04/18

Year 12 and Year 13 enjoying the sunshine and a game of rounders at lunchtime today. Better luck next time Year 13! Thank you to Miss Abbott for organising it. https://t.co/7wPf1ePk6L

20/04/18

We look forward to welcoming all our New Entrants to their Language Workshops tomorrow, Saturday, 21 April 2018. See you there!

19/04/18

Student led tutorial showing how to import original material from garage band into Scratch. Jess, Digital Leader https://t.co/vGtRn3oK6L

19/04/18

Today's lecture starts at 3.30pm for Years 9-13. We are very pleased to have Thane Campbell, a PhD student from Edinburgh University, coming to Invicta to share his PhD research on the latest imaging equipment for the Proteus project for the medical sector.

19/04/18

Congratulations to Eleanor, in Year 8, who recently played her harp at the Mayor's Reception for Judge Carey in the Town Hall. Mr Greer described her performance as stunning!

18/04/18

The frames have propolis (bee glue) on them, which is a resin-like substance. The keepers also add syrup to the feeder. https://t.co/FQdpUFHfX2

18/04/18

Attending to Invicta's hives and adding syrup to the feeder. We hope we get another bumper crop of excellent honey again this year! https://t.co/gzr8wsuPaM

17/04/18

Retweeted From Valley Invicta TSA

Did you miss our last Train to Teach Day? Not to worry, join us on Tuesday 22 May for our next Train to Teach Day. https://t.co/awlexhgHbL

17/04/18

Binary poem written by Katie in Year 7 to support her computer science revision. https://t.co/hGA2LFcBwL

17/04/18

7V were testing acids and alkalis in a fun and interactive science lesson. Lily, Digital Leader https://t.co/phdjUWDjid

17/04/18

Photosynthesis in elodea, pond weeds in Year 8 Biology lesson, and counting bubbles of oxygen to determine rate of photosynthesis. https://t.co/k2oFY7sJSF

17/04/18

Year 11 scientists are excited to try out the new 'Required Practical' Questions on Tassomai - 150 new questions to support their revision. https://t.co/rXAez0BnrN

17/04/18

We hope to see you here! https://t.co/QkQntpC633

16/04/18

Never too old to make a daisy chain! https://t.co/rBdDvULFkp

16/04/18

The Duke of Edinburgh Gold practice weekend went very well for Invicta students, apart from a grey start to the day. https://t.co/1NQLJVVPaD

16/04/18

Congratulations to our 3 persons Invicta team whose entry into the KM Bright Sparks Award has been accepted. We wish them well.

16/04/18

Students and Staff enjoyed their fantastic ski trip to Italy during the Easter break, both on and off the slopes! https://t.co/J4fXSLKJgd

16/04/18

The Theme of the Week: Be Disciplined. Assemblies and Tutor Time will be based on the theme.

16/04/18

Welcome back after the Easter break. We hope you had a lovely time.

29/03/18

Well done to Angel in 8N who represented Medway Rugby Football Club on Sunday, 25 March at the Kent U13 Tournament at Priestfields, Rochester. They came 2nd overall out of 5 teams and Angel received a medal for taking part in the games!

29/03/18

Adventure athlete Sophie Radcliffe is at Invicta speaking to Year 9 about confidence and passion for life. https://t.co/pRsIlnaKcb

29/03/18

Students from Book Club enjoyed their visit to South East Schools Themed Book Awards evening to hear authors Patrice Lawrence and Juno Dawson speak. https://t.co/HqzOSwq0ko

29/03/18

Congratulations to Sophie in 13S - her fantastic alternative book cover won first prize South East Schools Themed Book Awards ceremony. https://t.co/3NdJZkTMhg

29/03/18

Year 10 Food Preparation and Nutrition students baked and decorated sponge cakes. Prior to this they investigated the ingredients in cakes and why each ingredient is important. The cakes produced are stunning and each one is individual with very professional presentation. https://t.co/zkORupvftx

Invicta Blogs

Posted on: May 16th 2016

I read an article entitled ‘Ice Cream for Breakfast and Coke all Day’ in the Telegraph this week – it reviewed the favourite foods of billionaires.

I read an article entitled ‘Ice Cream for Breakfast and Coke all Day’ in the Telegraph this week – it reviewed the favourite foods of billionaires.  Microsoft founder Bill Gates, whose net worth is said to stand at $87 billion, is rarely seen without a can of Diet Coke, whilst Steve Jobs liked apples a lot.  This made me think about a question that Year 9 asked me this week too. I drop in to tutor groups and give them the opportunity to ask me any questions they like – it literally is everything from what we hope to achieve as a school, to every day issues around the year group, to finding out more about me. In contrast, it gives me the opportunity to find out more about the year group, their interests, views and opinions.  However, this week, I was asked a whole host of questions about my interests and what I like and dislike – one of which, was based around my favourite foods!  This made me think. I had not really thought about it much, but I knew that I could safely say that I loved raspberries!  Not only are they lovely, but they are healthy as well.  To me, there is nothing more important than your health, and looking after your diet is one of the best ways to stay healthy. Coupled with an active lifestyle, I try to look after myself with a healthy, balanced diet and plenty of fresh fruit and vegetables. So, when you read about the eccentric ways that some people eat, it is enlightening.  However, one thing for sure, is that when I spoke to Year 9, they actually take the issue of food and health very seriously, which is good to see.  They were keen to find out about our plans for a new sports hall at school, as well as how we are constantly developing the menus available in the Dining Hall – to include the updated salad bar, fruit pots and vegetarian options.  Not only was I really impressed by this, but I was extremely pleased.  It highlights how our students understand the need to be healthy and sensible in what they eat. But, what really made me happy was that when asked, our girls were genuinely interested in the development of their school.  They, like me, wanted the school to be the best it could be. Co-incidentally, that is the theme of the week, so a great way to end this week’s Blog.  I have no doubt that our girls will relish the opportunity to not only be the ‘best they can be’, but to ensure that Invicta can ‘be the best it can be’!  By continually listening to the suggestions of our students is one way that I will endeavour to do this.