Twitter Wall

Twitter Wall

Close

11/10/17

We hope to see you at our concert this evening! https://t.co/mpj7AXnka1

10/10/17

Congratulations to Briony and Sophia in Year 11, who have secured a place at the Cambridge MFL workshop next week. You should be very proud!

10/10/17

To celebrate the Library is running a competition to win this bundle of books. Entry forms available in the Library. https://t.co/EcznEgcP9f

10/10/17

Silly Sock Day is in full swing for Year 7 today! https://t.co/a44z2Nm0Lx

09/10/17

We look forward to welcoming you to our 11+ Open Mornings. Wednesday 11 to Friday 13 October. Booking required https://t.co/t27ZPDcRLs.

09/10/17

Congratulations to Abigail and mum for winning the Library Book Quote Competition during our 11+ Open Evening. https://t.co/WGW8BCxJOM

09/10/17

The Theme of the Week: Reflect Upon Internationalism, Religion and Culture. Assemblies and Tutor Time will be based on the theme.

06/10/17

Do you like solving murder mysteries? Tickets are still available for this fantastic Murder Mystery Evening on Saturday, 4 November 2017! https://t.co/VmkTV6bV1s

06/10/17

We were delighted to welcome prospective students and their parents to our 11+ Open Evening last night. https://t.co/X55fv7NVF9

05/10/17

Congratulation to Invicta's U15 hockey team who won a match against Kings Rochester, 6-2. Goal scorers were Olivia, Abi and Issy. https://t.co/EVUjw4O0MC

05/10/17

Retweeted From Valley Invicta TSA

Thinking of becoming a teacher? Find out more at a VITSA Train to Teach event: https://t.co/GgVCKZP4Dg

05/10/17

The walking POP group enjoyed their afternoon session yesterday! https://t.co/Fbv3NXWMWH

05/10/17

We hope you can join us for our 11+ Open Evening tonight! https://t.co/JpmixwAdpZ

05/10/17

Retweeted From King'sRochesterSport

U15s warming up for tonight’s game v with guest coach, club captain Aspen Cumming. https://t.co/DssP6mC2aR

05/10/17

Retweeted From King'sRochesterSport

Half time U15🏑 update: 1-3 . Goal from Gabby Mouzo. Very competitive, lots of chances for both teams https://t.co/QYfC01dUCK

05/10/17

Retweeted From King'sRochesterSport

U15 🏑 final score 2-5 . (2nd half goal from B Ajayi) Thanks to our visitors for a great game. https://t.co/EpRf0fxF0t

04/10/17

An exciting final in the Spelling Bee Competition between Frank, Nightingale and Curie! 1st place to Curie. Well done Mia and Miranda 🏆 https://t.co/Sq1ndlGPPd

03/10/17

UPDATE: We raised over £800! A very big thank you to all those involved in the morning on Friday. We love cake! https://t.co/UiSfU8RIp3

03/10/17

Well done to Year 8 for the Virgin Island Fundraiser on Monday! Lunchtime mocktails and a hula hooping competition all added to the fun! https://t.co/C5ssoj3dJ6

02/10/17

The Theme of the Week: Care about Science and Technology. Assemblies and tutor time will be based around the theme.

29/09/17

We were delighted to welcome Mrs Monica Hartwell to School to meet the World School delegates as they prepare for Brisbane 2017! https://t.co/fatEmDwckJ

29/09/17

A very successful World's Biggest Coffee Morning here at Invicta Grammar School. https://t.co/y9A3SS6zmG

29/09/17

Well done team! https://t.co/3ql7AP8zk1

29/09/17

Retweeted From Valley Park School

Our went to a fair at yesterday with a petting corner of rabbits, guinea pigs, chickens, ducks, alpacas & goats. https://t.co/cCoRLbp7Oq

28/09/17

Well done to the Netball Team. Winning all 7 games in the Under 19 Netball Tour, securing a place at the Kent Finals in November! https://t.co/GNqAvs1F6i

28/09/17

Year 7 are really pleased to see their Primary School Teachers at the Primary Afternoon Tea this afternoon. https://t.co/ZyTxCSkAHV

27/09/17

Janet Irons from University and Keith Light from University will be presenting at an Information Evening at Invicta today.

27/09/17

Good luck to Invicta's U19 netball team taking part in the County Netball Tournament today!

27/09/17

Invicta's Over 60s ICT classes have started once again today at the school. Please contact m.pope.viat.org.uk if you are interested.

27/09/17

Retweeted From Valley Invicta TSA

Free teacher subject specialism training in secondary mathematics, core maths, physics and modern foreign languages: https://t.co/sOhqVDiDZb

26/09/17

Congratulations to Libby and Emma in 11N who completed a sponsored Stand Up Paddleboard Marathon @ Leybourne Watersports Centre on Saturday. https://t.co/eA3kvyNp3I

26/09/17

Interact and Young Chambers Murder Mystery Evening. Saturday, 4 November 2017. Tickets are available now. We hope you can make it. https://t.co/jURYtWQ3Ir

26/09/17

Congratulations to Sophie in 10V, Emma in 11C, Emily in 10T and Phoebe in 11C - all winners in the Canterbury Festival Poetry Competition!

25/09/17

We look forward to welcoming parents and carers to our Year 7 Parents Information and Tutor Evening today.

25/09/17

Thank you to everyone who supported the FIGS Autumn Fair, it was a lovely afternoon. Final total raised will be announced once known. https://t.co/8g2Hgg3hpU

25/09/17

Challenge 20 launched today in School Library. Read 20 books over the academic year and write a review. Prizes and incentives as you go! https://t.co/TMH21AnX82

25/09/17

The Theme of the Week: Be Inquiring about the Arts and Media. Assemblies and tutor time will be based on and around the theme.

22/09/17

Fun in the sunshine at the IGS Fest. A great time was had by all! https://t.co/XUefNLfp6a

22/09/17

Congratulations to Lara, 10I for 6th place in the Pentathlon GB Biathle Series Race in Weymouth last week. A fantastic achievement.

Invicta Blogs

Posted on: October 3rd 2016

This week’s theme is to be ‘informed by engaging with global issues and forming your own opinions’.

This week’s theme is to be ‘informed by engaging with global issues and forming your own opinions’.  To help with this, we will encourage students to think about someone that has had an impact on our global society and to form an opinion of their actions.  For me, there are lots of people but if I had to name one, it would be Steve Jobs. He was a truly great businessman, but more than that, he was an inspiration to young people, entrepreneurs, inventors, designers, budding musicians, and people with disabilities, who, through his vision, discovered a better way to engage with the world.  This is what, I want to encourage all our students to think about. 

So many people have drawn courage from Steve and related to his life story: college drop-outs, struggling entrepreneurs, ousted business leaders figuring out how to make a difference in the world, and people fighting debilitating illness. Many of us would all be able to think about his personal and professional successes and struggles and use this as inspiration.  Steve lived and worked by the message: “Your time is limited, so do not waste it living someone else’s life... have the courage to follow your heart and intuition."  This is something I wholeheartedly subscribe to.

In Apple’s 1997, “Think Different” marketing campaign, he said: “Here’s to the crazy ones. The misfits. The rebels. The troublemakers. The round pegs in the square holes. The ones who see things differently.” 

I think that this is an attitude that is shared by lots of people who seek to make a real difference globally.  We must think differently and be aware of the importance of having an idea and an opinion.  Steve Jobs was innovative, determined and, above all, passionate about world issues.  He had an opinion about what was happening in our world.  So, this week, as our theme so eloquently highlights, let us today, more than ever, do something radically different to make our mark in the world in which we live.  Let us have an opinion and engage in healthy, informed discussion to enable us to change things – just like Steve Jobs!