Twitter Wall

Twitter Wall

Close

12/12/17

The Theme of the Week: Celebrate Success and Show Appreciation. Assemblies and tutor time will be based on the theme.

11/12/17

Retweeted From Get Into Teaching

Writing your teacher training application? Here are some useful tips to bear in mind: https://t.co/Jl7aU7BCD3

08/12/17

Man 'O' Man - Battle of the Sixth Form Boys is complete! Congratulations Sean! https://t.co/0e38AwOmcV

08/12/17

The final RAG theme for this week is 'Glitter'! It has been an action packed week and we will announce the grand total that has been raised early next week! https://t.co/nw3jRpvVPE

07/12/17

Retweeted From Maidstone Museum

We’re in a festive mood tonight as we welcome for their Christmas concert here 🎄🎄🎄 https://t.co/afZC9bYSs5

07/12/17

Thank you and well done to all the Year 11 students who have completed the British Physics Olympiad Experimental Project "the motion of a slinky under gravity". Excellent projects and we wish the finalists good luck in the National Competition. https://t.co/zvHmKQYBMw

05/12/17

Chloe in 11A has been a volunteer at Leybourne Grange Riding Centre for the Disabled for 10 years. She will be volunteering once again at their annual Nativity event on Friday 8 December.

05/12/17

The RAG theme for the day is Heroes and Villains and the students, and staff, excelled with their outfits! https://t.co/7glnzA3teO

05/12/17

We are supporting two local charity appeals this Christmas, the Salvation Army's Christmas Present Appeal and the You Can Appeal. Donations of new, unwrapped toys and gifts and non-perishable food (e.g. tins of food, coffee, crisps, squash). https://t.co/kQ10m4CqVP

05/12/17

The video from the Young Cooks 2017 competition: https://t.co/5c665i5pCk

05/12/17

We are very proud of Charlotte! https://t.co/TMyrpnEB4B

04/12/17

We have 12 exchange students and 2 of their teachers from GT College, Hong Kong with us this week. GT college is a highly prestigious school in Hong Kong and we are delighted that they chose to build an exchange programme with us from the many UK schools they contacted. https://t.co/MaiRgA0ZE9

04/12/17

The RAG Dance Show is this evening, Monday 4 December at 7pm! Tickets are being sold in the dance studio during lunch, and they will also be sold on the door tonight. We look forward to seeing you there!

04/12/17

Lovely to see students borrowing the wrapped books from under the Library’s Advent Tree this morning – the gift of reading for the Christmas holidays. https://t.co/RTPywivP5x

04/12/17

Congratulations to Amelia in Year 7 who is doing extremely well on her pony at the moment and has qualified for national championships for showjumping.

04/12/17

Today is the start of Invicta's annual RAG event raising money for 5 chosen charities throughout the school year. The dress-up theme for the day is pyjamas, and the students dressed accordingly with a wide range of pyjamas and onesies! https://t.co/CCs7BwgxyP

04/12/17

The Theme of the Week: Care about the Arts and Media. Assemblies and tutor time will be based on the theme.

01/12/17

Well done to the Year 9 Digital Leaders who have have been delivering E-Safety Assemblies all week. Such an important topic. https://t.co/blQBKBJAB7

30/11/17

Thank you! https://t.co/dpsVk3LKgT

30/11/17

Thank you! https://t.co/ESf2U1Ayoe

30/11/17

Congratulations to Charlotte who was awarded overall winner at the Kent Cooks final today! https://t.co/PqPUn7oBwx

30/11/17

Our Science lesson - The image shows that, in hot water, particles move quicker than in cold water. Isabel, 7C, Digital Leader https://t.co/Ev8OqLT4sj

30/11/17

Good luck to Charlotte, Year 10, at the Kent Cooks Competition today, and also to Lizzie, Year 8, and her sister Nicole who are also competing in the family section too. https://t.co/UFDbhbWxtk

29/11/17

Retweeted From Kent Young Chef

Check out winners live at tonight from 6pm https://t.co/pPM9YZEjMk Well done Olivia & Leah on your success. https://t.co/HxCfJTCcIi

29/11/17

7V learning new and exciting dance choreography! Lily 7V, Digital Leader https://t.co/hQfURIAgO7

29/11/17

7V using the interactive website Padlet in their Spanish class. Lily 7V, Digital Leader https://t.co/m3HY0zacI5

28/11/17

8I have been learning about the lungs in Science. Madeleine 8I, Digital Leader https://t.co/BUkalEQ1g2

28/11/17

The Sunday Times newspaper published the Schools Guide 2018. In the latest publication, Invicta is once again recognised as the best school in Maidstone and also the 23rd best state school in the South East of England. Julie Derrick, head teacher, was thrilled by the recognition. https://t.co/1rQSiInVjt

27/11/17

Invicta students raised £547.09 for Children in Need. Thank you to everyone who contributed! https://t.co/iAqkyS2rRd

27/11/17

Pupils from local primary schools, as well as Invicta students, have been enjoying our annual Cultural Festival today. There has been food and drink, dancing and music as well as quizzes. https://t.co/Z7pRXhePGb

27/11/17

The U13 netball team also played to a very high standard and some excellent shooting from Hannah and Natalie helped to secure a 12-1 victory, these girls were ably supported by brilliant centre court play from Amelie and Nhyira (named player of the match by Wally Hall). https://t.co/BSVSm14huh

27/11/17

Invicta's U12 age group played their first game, and some excellent netball, resulting in a 7-3 win. Superb shooting came from Mia and strong centre court play came from Aoife (voted player of the match by Wally Hall). https://t.co/8JgBTmRDFW

27/11/17

The Classical Civilisation GCSE students recently went to Cranbrook School to see the Actors of Dionysus Theatre Company in a production of Sophocles’ Antigone. This Greek tragedy is a set text for coursework and was a very interesting production of a 2400 year old classic. https://t.co/J2ApJZsoOh

27/11/17

Emma in 8I, took some photos of her form during their netball lesson. https://t.co/lZIwQp6yfD

27/11/17

37 Year 11 and 12 students braved the chilly conditions of late November and completed a mini-expedition in the Ashdown Forest over the weekend. The tasks included tent construction, planning local treks, planning and cooking meals outdoors for the groups, and basic survival. https://t.co/GTHRd8jDrG

27/11/17

Thank you to our Inspiring Einsteins Club who discussed the Fermi Paradox, the future of our universe, Habitable zones and the Dyson Sphere. Thank you to Mrs McGrath for the delicious and thematic cakes. https://t.co/hrTu4UPF0A

27/11/17

The Theme of the Week: Be Inquiring about Science and Technology. Assemblies and tutor time will be based on the theme.

27/11/17

Retweeted From Valley Invicta TSA

Looking through applications for School Direct next year it is good to see applications from past students of and amongst others 😀#teaching

27/11/17

Retweeted From The Lenham School

Don’t forget our production of Little Shop of Horrors this December! Get your tickets from School reception https://t.co/7OElnojNXS

24/11/17

A very successful business lunch for the Young Chamber today. Thank you to all the guests but in particular, Mrs Helen Grant, , his worshipful the Mayor of Maidstone and the very generous sponsors Pillory Barn and Financial Advice & Services. https://t.co/H4LodzEedQ

Invicta Blogs

Posted on: October 3rd 2016

This week’s theme is to be ‘informed by engaging with global issues and forming your own opinions’.

This week’s theme is to be ‘informed by engaging with global issues and forming your own opinions’.  To help with this, we will encourage students to think about someone that has had an impact on our global society and to form an opinion of their actions.  For me, there are lots of people but if I had to name one, it would be Steve Jobs. He was a truly great businessman, but more than that, he was an inspiration to young people, entrepreneurs, inventors, designers, budding musicians, and people with disabilities, who, through his vision, discovered a better way to engage with the world.  This is what, I want to encourage all our students to think about. 

So many people have drawn courage from Steve and related to his life story: college drop-outs, struggling entrepreneurs, ousted business leaders figuring out how to make a difference in the world, and people fighting debilitating illness. Many of us would all be able to think about his personal and professional successes and struggles and use this as inspiration.  Steve lived and worked by the message: “Your time is limited, so do not waste it living someone else’s life... have the courage to follow your heart and intuition."  This is something I wholeheartedly subscribe to.

In Apple’s 1997, “Think Different” marketing campaign, he said: “Here’s to the crazy ones. The misfits. The rebels. The troublemakers. The round pegs in the square holes. The ones who see things differently.” 

I think that this is an attitude that is shared by lots of people who seek to make a real difference globally.  We must think differently and be aware of the importance of having an idea and an opinion.  Steve Jobs was innovative, determined and, above all, passionate about world issues.  He had an opinion about what was happening in our world.  So, this week, as our theme so eloquently highlights, let us today, more than ever, do something radically different to make our mark in the world in which we live.  Let us have an opinion and engage in healthy, informed discussion to enable us to change things – just like Steve Jobs!